# REPORT OF THE SECRETARY PRESENTED IN THE 37TH ANNUAL GENERAL BODY MEETING HELD AT LUCKNOW, JANUARY 10, 1985

### Mr. President, Ladies and Gentlemen:

Welcome to the 37th Annual General Body meeting of Indian Phytopathological Society. I hope you enjoyed the deliberations of the symposium on "Environment and Plant Disease" and contributory paper sessions. The overwhelming response from our members for these meetings is gratifying.

### Membership and Fellowship

Present membership of the Society is 1209 which includes 101 new members. Fifty five members did not renew their membership in 1984.

It is a pleasure to inform you that the following 16 members have been admitted as Fellows of the Society.

Drs. M. L. Agarwal, K. R. Aneja, P. B. Awasthi, S. V. S. Chauhan, G. S. Dubey, N. S. R. Krishna Rao, Srikant Kulkarni, Kumud Kumar, K. V. Mallaiah, K. Murlidharan, Nagaraju, K. Nagarajan, S. B. Singh, S. L. Srivastava, H. N. Verma, and Mr. A. K. Misra.

### **Financial** position

Financial position of the Society continues to be sound. The Society maintains Savings Bank accounts and fixed deposits in Bank of India. Grindlay's Bank Ltd. and Syndicate Bank. On 31-12-1984 the Society had a total of Rs. 1,08,167.39 in savings accounts and cash in hand, and Rs. 1,22,000.00 in fixed deposits of 60 to 63 months which will mature in 1988-89. The amount in fixed deposits include donations received by the Society for organizing M. J. Narasimhan Academic Award Contests (Rs. 22,000/-) and Jeersannidhi Lecture Award (Rs. 10,000/-), and Rs. 2000/received from Dr. G. Thottapilly for a new award to be decided.

You will be happy to know that the Indian Council of Agricultural Research has released a grant of Rs. 12,000/- for the year 1984 and we are thankful to the ICAR for kindly increasing the grant by Rs. 2000/-. The ICAR however, did not extend the grant for 1982-83 as audited account of the 3rd International Symposium of Plant Pathology (ISPP) held in December, 1981 were submitted late.

## The Journal

It is a matter of pride for all of us that our journal Indian Phytopathology is being published on schedule due to the untiring efforts of the Editorial Board, Society staff, proof readers and printers M/s Kapoor Art Press. We are thankful to the printers for their willing help in improving the quality of the journal.

### **Plant Disease Problems**

A limited number of copies amounting to Rs. 345.00 were sold. This brings the total amount collected by way of sale proceeds of the volume to Rs. 22,978.00 out of Rs. 25,000.00 invested by the Society.

### **Executive Council Meetings**

The Executive Council of the Society had one meeting (15-2-1984) and two informal meetings during the year.

# **Zonal Activities**

1984 has been a very quiet year for zonal activities. Lectures by eminent scientists were organized in Delhi and West Zones only.

### Special Lectures

We are highly grateful to Dr. B. M. Gupta for kindly accepting our invitation to deliver the 22nd Mundkur Memorial Lecture.

# Symposium and Contributory Papers

This year we received 220 papers for presentation of which 208 were included in the programme, 12 could not be included as at least one of the authors had contributed more than two papers.

### M. J. Narasimhan Academic Award

a. Lecture Award: Eight papers were received for this contest of which six were actually presented. Congratulations to Dr. U. S. Singh for winning the award this year for his paper "Uptake, translocation and distribution of metalaxyl in plants : mode and requisites" by U. S. Singh and J. Kumar.

b. *Best Paper Award*: The new award announced last year will be given at the time of the next Annual Meeting for the best paper published in every volume of Indian Phytopathology starting from volume 37 (1984).

## **Resolutions and recommendations**

The General Body of the Society formed a Committee to examine the resolution for the formation of Zonal Chapters of the Society. The committee consisting of the following members will submit its report for consideration in the next meeting of the General Body:

Prof. K. S. Bhargava (Chairman), Prof. J. S. Jhooty, Prof. M. N. Khare, Dr. Dinesh Kumar, Prof. D. Lalithakumari, Prof. Anupam Varma (Convener)

The General Body also approved the following recommendations of the Executive Council :

a. Dr. P. H. Gregory and Dr. S. P. Raychaudhuri be elected as Honorary Fellows of the Society.

- b. The authors submitting papers for publication in Indian Phytopathology should be informed the decision about acceptance/revision/rejection of the paper within six months after the receipt of the paper; in case of revision the authors must return the revised manuscript within three months of the receipt of comments from the Society.
- c. If a paper published in Indian Phytopathology is also published in another journal, authors of such papers should be debarred from publishing in Indian Phytopathology for three years.
- d. A brief report of the Chief Editor should also be published in the journal.
- e. All new members of the Society and referees of papers published in Indian Phytopathology should be given a complimentary copy of 'Plant Disease Problems' till the stock lasts.
- f. Prof. K. S. Bilgrami should be requested to deliver the 23rd Mundkur Memorial Lecture.
- g. The Society should try to organize International Congress of Plant Pathology and Virology in India.
- h. The next Annual Meeting of the Society should be held at Bhagalpur.

### Acknowledgements

We are highly grateful to Prof. R. S. Mishra, Vice Chancellor, Lucknow University for providing the facilities and to Dr. C. P. Sharma, Chairman, Dr. H. N. Verma, Secretary and all the members of the Local Organizing Committee for the great efforts they have put in organizing this meeting.

We are grateful to Prof. K. S. Bhargava, Prof. H. K. Saksena, Dr. Kishan Singh, Dr. M. M. Payak, Dr. R. K. Grover, Prof. M. N. Khare, Prof. Ram Dayal, Prof. A. N. Mukhopadhyay, Prof. B. L. Jalali, Prof. Rama Rao, Dr. I. N. Tandon, Prof. S. Sarkar, Dr. V. P. Agnihotri, Dr. A. K. Sarbhoy, Dr. J. P. Verma, Prof. D. Lalithakumari, Prof. Gopal Swarup and Prof. B. M. Gupta for kindly chairing various sessions and to Prof. G. S. Dube, Dr. Rashmi Raychaudhuri, Dr. R. D. Parashar, Dr. Sudhir Chandra, Dr. R. B. Somani, Dr. Sangam Lal, Dr. Mahendra Pal, Dr. D. Kulshrestha, Dr. U. S. Shukla, Dr. Raj Pal Singh, Shri L. B. Goel, Dr. Padmakumari, Dr. Om Prakash, Dr. G. P Singh, Dr. R. A. Singh and Dr. D. V. Singh for kindly working as Rapporteurs in various sessions during this meeting. We are also highly thankful to Dr. H. K. Saksena, Prof. R. K. Grover and Prof. Manoharachari for kindly helping us in adjudging the Narasimhan Academic Award contest and to Dr. D. Kulshrestha, Dr. Mahendra Pal, Dr. Raj Pal Singh, Dr. G. L. Raina, and Dr. D. K. Agarwal for their kind help in counting the votes.

In the end I would like to express my gratitude to all the members of the Executive Council and staff at the headquarter for their guidance and generous help in the functioning of the Society. Results of the election of the Executive Council

have been just announced. We heartily welcome the new members of the Executive Council.

President Elect Councillors Dr. Y. L. Nene
Dr. V. K. Agarwal
Dr. K. H. Anahosur
Sh. B. K. Giri
Dr. G. K. Gupta
Dr. S. K. Hasija
Dr. S. S. Kore
Dr. A. K. Roy

Thanking you, January 10, 1985.

ANUPAM VARMA Secretary